The PPE Program is genuinely interdisciplinary, and in particular advances research collaborations among the Department of Philosophy, the Department of Political Science, and the Department of Economics at Virginia Tech. The faculty of the PPE Program works across the whole field of PPE, including the history and methodology of ethical, political, and economic thought; philosophy of economics; formal methods such as rational choice theory and game theory; welfare economics; political economy; distributive justice; global justice; and foundational questions of public policy.

The PPE Program also maintains close collaborations with other disciplines on campus that work on problems that have social, ethical, economic, and political dimensions, in particular the fields of public and international affairs, business, engineering, geography, agricultural and applied economics, fish and wildlife conservation, and forest resources and environmental conservation.

For more information about the research of the PPE Program, please visit the PPE Research News page.


Publications

Thomas Rowe and Alex Voorhoeve

Egalitarianism under Severe Uncertainty (forthcoming)

Gil Hersch

Ignoring Easterlin: Why Easterlin’s Correlation Findings Need Not Matter to Public Policy (forthcoming)

Sudipta Sarangi (et al.)

Network Formation when Agents Seek Confirmation of Information (forthcoming)

Daniel Wodak

What Does ‘Legal Obligation’ Mean? (forthcoming)

Melinda Miller

Selection and Historical Height Data (forthcoming)

Besnik Pula

Globalization Under and After Socialism (2018)

Eric Bahel

Cooperation and Subgame Perfect Equilibria in Global Pollution Problems with a Critical Threshold (2018)

Michael Moehler

Minimal Morality: A Multilevel Social Contract Theory (2018)

Michael Moehler

The Rawls-Harsanyi Dispute: A Moral Point of View (2018)

David Bieri

Back to the Future: Lösch, Isard, and the Role of Money and Credit in the Space-Economy (2017)

Nicholas Goedert

The Pseudo-Paradox of Partisan Mapmaking and Congressional Competition (2017)

Adam Dominiak (et al.)

Coherent Dempster–Shafer Equilibrium and Ambiguous Signals (2017)

Edward Weisband

The Macabresque: Human Violation and Hate in Genocide, Mass Atrocity and Enemy-Making (2017)

Michael Moehler

In Defense of a Democratic Productivist Welfare State (2017)

Andy Scerri

Deep Ecology, the Holistic Critique of Enlightenment Dualism and the Irony of History (2016)

Karen Hult (et al.)

White House Evolution and Institutionalization: The Office of Chief of Staff since Reagan (2016)


Affiliated Faculty

Kathleen Alexander

Associate Professor
Fish & Wildlife Conservation
kathyalx@nullvt.edu

Eric Bahel

Associate Professor
Economics
erbahel@nullvt.edu

David Bieri

Associate Professor
SPIA
bieri@nullvt.edu

Daniel Breslau

Associate Professor
STS
dbreslau@nullvt.edu

Mauro Caraccioli

Assistant Professor
Political Science
mauroj@nullvt.edu

Cara Daggett

Assistant Professor
Political Science
cdaggett@nullvt.edu

Claudio D'Amato

PPE Associate
Philosophy
claudio1@nullvt.edu

Adam Dominiak

Associate Professor
Economics
dominiak@nullvt.edu

Michael Ellerbrock

Professor
Ag. & Applied Economics
mebrock@nullvt.edu

Nicholas Goedert

Assistant Professor
Political Science
ngoedert@nullvt.edu

Gil Hersch

Postdoctoral Fellow
PPE Program
hersch@nullvt.edu

Siddharth Hari

Assistant Professor
Economics
sh2599@nullvt.edu

Sukaina Hirji

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
shirji@nullvt.edu

Karen Hult

Professor
Political Science
khult@nullvt.edu

James C. Klagge

Professor
Philosophy
jklagge@nullvt.edu

Matt Kovach

Assistant Professor
Economics
mkovach@nullvt.edu

Karen Kovaka

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
kkovaka@nullvt.edu

Douglas Lind

Professor
Philosophy
douglas.lind@nullvt.edu

Tim Luke

Uni. Distinguished Professor
Political Science
twluke@nullvt.edu

Deborah Mayo

Professor
Philosophy
mayod@nullvt.edu

Melinda Miller

Assistant Professor
Economics
millermc@nullvt.edu

Michael Moehler

Director PPE Program
Philosophy
moehler@nullvt.edu

Wayne Moore

Associate Professor
Political Science
wmoore@nullvt.edu

Scott Nelson

Associate Professor
Political Science
scnelson@nullvt.edu

Douglas Noonan

Professor
PPE Visiting Scholar
noonand@nulliupui.edu

Joseph Pitt

Professor
Philosophy
jcpitt@nullvt.edu

Besnik Pula

Assistant Professor
Political Science
bpula@nullvt.edu

Ken Reid

Associate Professor
Engineering Education
kenreid@nullvt.edu

Lynn Resler

Associate Professor
Geography
resler@nullvt.edu

Thomas Rowe

Postdoctoral Fellow
PPE Program
tmrowe@nullvt.edu

Sudipta Sarangi

Professor
Economics
ssarangi@nullvt.edu

Andrew Scerri

Assistant Professor
Political Science
ajscerri@nullvt.edu

Dan Simundza

Research Specialist
Global Forum
simundza@nullusc.edu

Aris Spanos

Professor
Economics
aris@nullvt.edu

Steve Trost

Assistant Professor
Economics
strost@nullvt.edu

Gerelt Tserenjigmid

Assistant Professor
Economics
gerelt@nullvt.edu

Edward Weisband

Professor
Political Science
weisband@nullvt.edu

Donna Wertalik

Associate Professor
Marketing
wertalikd@nullvt.edu

Daniel Wodak

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
dwodak@nullvt.edu

Richard Wokutch

Professor
Management
wokutch@nullvt.edu